Holy Heretic Daily Devotional: July 1-Be Still

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- JULY 1, 2016-BE STILL

Compiled by Mercy Junction Council Member Sadie Morgan

“He makes me think about
All of these extra moves I make
And all of this herky-jerky motion
And the bag of tricks it takes
To get me through my working day
One-trick pony” – Paul Simon, One Trick Pony, 1980

When I first heard the theme for this month, I just groaned inside. Hippie-dippy BS to me. Be Still. What in the world do I know about that? More like, I’m “a victim of the delusion that he can wrest satisfaction and happiness out of this world if he only manages well.”* Look at my bookshelf and all the self-help books. “I gotta DO something!” – if only I could figure out what that something is I need to do.

Honestly, getting older has helped me with this. Sometimes it’s too painful or exhausting to “do” anything. So I physically sit still, but I’m still doing somersaults inside.

Be Still. Okay, how? Breathe. How is that going to help? Somehow it does.

I remember a quote from President Carter’s wayward brother, Billy:

“All I HAVE to do is live til I die.” Sometimes that gives me perspective.

The point is, this is progress, not perfection. I’m not there yet – and it’s if OK you aren’t either. Life is complicated – sometimes we make it even more so.

We don’t have to do that – Be Still.

Today’s Action:
Observe or contemplate things in nature that wait until the right moment to do what it’s made to do – a cat stalking its prey, for example. What else do you notice?

Sharing: We’d love to hear about your observations!

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic! **

Leave a Reply

