Holy Heretic Daily Devotional: July 18-Be Still

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- JULY 18, 2016-BE STILL

Compiled by Mercy Junction Pastor Brian Merritt

Napped half the day; no one punished me.  Issa

HALT! In twelve step programs if you are part of the “program” for very long you will know the acronym HALT. It stands for: Hungry, Angry, Lonely, Tired. These are seen as the ultimate triggers. As an addict, I know that if I am started to exhibit any of these four attributes that I am heading for trouble. If I have not eaten I will act like a hungry child. If I let anger consume me I will lose my ability to soberly assess a situation. If I am overcome by loneliness I will feel sorry for myself and give into my need for isolation. Finally, If I get too tired I dull my perception of the reality that surrounds me.

Sleep is an incredibly important aspect of our lives. We need it for health, sanity and spirituality. If we are not sleeping we are not able to be fully present for ourselves and others. Sleep is where our dreams help us to work out the reality of our time awake. The phrase, “I will sleep when I am dead” is a prophetically demonic understanding of life. If we do not give into our most basic biological function to be productive we are giving in to capitalism’s most sinful lie. We are how much we accomplish. We find our value, not in how much we produce, but are given value as creatures living in this moment. Sleep. Sleep knowing that to sleep you are living life fully by resting.

Today’s Action: Take a nap.

Sharing: What difference do you feel when you are well rested? How does your body feel? We would love to hear your response to these questions on our Facebook page.

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

 

Leave a Reply

