Holy Heretic Daily Devotional: July 20-Be Still

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- JULY 20, 2016-BE STILL

Compiled by Mercy Junction Justice and Peace Center Director Beth Foster

“At one point I learned transcendental meditation. This was 30-something years ago. It took me back to the way that I naturally was as a child growing up way in the country, rarely seeing people. I was in that state of oneness with creation and it was as I didn’t exist except as part of everything.” — Alice Walker

I’ve been feeling the stress and anxiety, anger and sadness, that seems to be sweeping this country and the world this long, hot summer. When I got home last night, I felt it in my bones. And I know that I am so privileged compared to so many of my sisters and brothers, and what I am feeling is only an inkling of what they must feel.

There’s not enough hours in the day. Everything is always behind. There are more demands than can be met. Time and money. More emails to answer. Time and money. Another appointment, another phone call. Time and money. And the pressure builds and builds.

Today, I found myself wanting to stop the world and just step off for a few hours. I wanted (and needed) a time out. You know, the kind little kids get when the world becomes overwhelming and they’re on the brink of a temper tantrum or an outburst of tears. You know the kind where it’s cool and quiet, and there’s a juice box and some cookies. And maybe a kitten to hold and a box fan blowing. A softly worn blanket folded into a pallet for an afternoon nap.

Yeah, the whole world needs a time out right now.

Today’s Action: Take a time out. Whatever it is that makes you feel safe — think of what you would do for a child who was completely overwhelmed and take care of yourself like you would a 4-year-old.

Sharing: Tell us about your time out and if you felt a little bit better afterward.

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

