A Call to Confession: Contrary to Donald Trump …

A Call to Confession: Contrary to Donald Trump, I do not believe in America. I confess belief in the God of Jesus Christ who transcends narrow nationalism.

Contrary to Donald Trump I do not subscribe to a notion of strength that is nothing but domination. Instead, I confess the strength of Jesus Christ who said to Paul, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Contrary to Donald Trump, I reject pride, a false sense of one’s own importance. Instead, I confess Jesus Christ who said, “Blessed are the meek,” that is blessed are those who embrace serving God through love of neighbor and care for God’s creation.

Contrary to Donald Trump, I do not seek safety in the idolatry of guns, a police state, military conquest, border walls, and racial superiority. Instead, I confess the prophets and Jesus who proclaimed that our security is in God and in doing the work of God’s justice, which begins with care for the “least of these.”

Contrary to Donald Trump, I do not aspire to being great defined by racial, military, economic, and political superiority. Instead, I confess an aspiration to the graciousness of a God, whose greatness is revealed in a creation that is good, a judgment that is restoratively just, and a redemption through the cross and the resurrection, which offers mercy to all.

— Peter Gathje, Memphis Theological Seminary

 

Leave a Reply

