Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: July 25-Be Still

Our Lady

 

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- JULY 25, 2016-BE STILL

Compiled by Mercy Junction Justice and Peace Center Pastor Rev. Brian Merritt

Our body is precious. It is a vehicle for awakening. Treat it with care. Buddha

I have been raised to see my body as an enemy. I remember when I heard the lines of the Bruce Cockburn song that proclaimed, “I was raised to distrust my body.” I immediately knew what he was talking about. In the conservative/fundamentalist heritage we are taught that our biological functions are filled with sin. This coupled with our capitalistic society selling an ideal for our human form leads to disaster.

It took a long time for me to understand that my body was not an enemy. I was fearfully and wonderfully made. The cells and blood that flows through me are miracles. From the grey matter in my brain to the skin that stretches the length of my body I am beauty.

We are created by one who sees us and knows it is a reflection of the one who did that creating. It is only us that sees this reflection as something marred, ugly or wanting. We are accepted and acceptable just as we are. Beauty is defined by being a fantastic part of creation and not by what is splashed and airbrushed on glossy pages or computer screens.

This body is the only container that we have in this world, love it.

Today’s Action: Run your hands across the skin of your body. Think about how this feels. What are the contours, rough patches, scars and soft spots? Have you ever noticed the geography of your flesh?

Sharing: Do you like or dislike your body? What do you love? What do you hate?

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

