Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: July 30-Be Still

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- JULY 30, 2016-BE STILL

Compiled by Holy Heretic Connie Foster

“The self must know stillness before it can discover its true song.” -Ralph Blum

 

-–

“Being Still” is not always easy for me. I have shared with God many times my desire to just keep my mouth closed and listen, pray and meditate. Sometimes I feel God’s gentle nudge, “Shh, be still, it’s okay to be quiet. You don’t have to say a word or do anything in this situation.” Later I have realized God saved me heartache and helped me avoid acting and talking, maybe even hurting someone else by acting and talking too hastily. God’s direction to be quiet was about more than resting my mouth, it was also about resting my heart. Psalms 131:2, “But, I have stilled and quieted my soul.”

 

-–

Today’s Action: Ask God to help you practice and enjoy silence and stillness. Your soul will find refreshing peace. Then use this refreshing peace to share your experience with others.

–-

Sharing: Ask God to help you practice and enjoy silence and stillness. Your soul will find refreshing peace. Then use this refreshing peace to share your experience with others.

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

