Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: August 7-Solitude

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Aug. 7, 2016-SOLITUDE

Compiled by Mercy Junction Justice and Peace Center Director Beth Foster

“I love people. I love my family, my children … but inside myself is a place where I live all alone and that’s where you renew your springs that never dry up.” — Pearl S. Buck

I have heard the difference between an introvert and extrovert explained by how the two “recharge.” An extrovert needs to be with people, to have human interaction, to recharge. Being alone drains an extrovert’s “springs.” For the introvert, the exact opposite is true. The introvert needs solitude to renew. When I heard this explained it made me understand myself in a different way. I absolutely love being with people. I love conversation, debate, c0-creating, but there is a point, after a certain number of hours, when I NEED to be alone. I need this in the way I need oxygen and food and water. If I don’t get it, I get a headache. I get grumpy. My thinking becomes muddy.

Solitude is vital to my physical, mental and spiritual well-being.

Today’s Action: What renews you, recharges you? Do you need to be with others or do you need to be alone to gather energy? Think about it. Whichever it is, make some time for it today.

Sharing: We would love to hear about whether you find your recharge alone or with company. Please comment on our Facebook page: https://m.facebook.com/HolyHereticZine

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

