Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: August 9-Solitude

Our Lady

 

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Aug. 8, 2016-SOLITUDE

Compiled by Mercy Junction Pastor Brian Merritt

“There are many who live in the mountains and behave as if they were in the town; they are wasting their time. It is possible to be a solitary in one’s mind while living in a crowd; and it is possible for those who are solitaries to live in the crowd of their own thoughts.” Amma Syncletica

I like the idea of “the crowd of their own thoughts.” That is where I find myself lost often. What will I do? What should I say? How can I look good? Is that person mad at me?

I am living in the past or the future and ignoring the present. I know that the only place I have the opportunity to meet the divine is in the present moment, still I hustle and rush trying to get to the next thing.

How can I possibly experience the blessing of the divine if I continue this way? I can not. I must stop and accept this moment as it comes. That may be loneliness, anger, fear or regret. Yet, it also could be joy, laughter, satisfaction and delight. I will never know unless I surrender to fully living in this moment.

Today’s Action: Stop. Take an inventory of your thoughts throughout the rest of this day. Where they in the present?

Sharing: We would love to hear mind exercises you practice to return to the present moment. Please comment on our Facebook page: https://m.facebook.com/HolyHereticZine

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

