Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: August 19 – Solitude

Our Lady

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Aug. 19, 2016-SOLITUDE

Compiled by Mercy Junction Council Member Sadie Morgan

“Solitude is the place of purification.” — Martin Buber

This quote appealed to me because I’m well acquainted with the Hebrew Scriptures’ obsession with purity. I sought to find something in Buber’s writings to elaborate on his thought with only vague results.

Honestly, while seeking a clear explanation, I was reminded of something I once said in a group discussing the book “Sermon on the Mount” by Emmet Fox. After long moments of impassioned argument about some passage, I just said, “I feel sorry for people who have to make faith so complicated.” Martin Buber affects me the same way.

Maybe I’m “simple-minded” in the worst connotation of that term, but I rather think we prefer to just complicate the hell out of something instead of just doing, or experiencing, it. I think we can do that with faith, or solitude, or meditation, or any of the practices that might enlarge our spiritual life. I tend to think there is some profound wisdom in the often-heard recovery adage, “Keep It Simple, Stupid” aka “KISS.” Of course, the point is, we aren’t really “stupid,” but we can make ourselves feel and seem to be with our unceasing convoluted “reasoning.”

So instead of a profound explanation of the Buber quote, I found a little poem he had written, and I’ll share that with you to consider in your next moment of solitude:
Every morning
I shall concern myself anew about the boundary
Between the love-deed-Yes and the power-deed-No
And pressing forward honor reality.
We cannot avoid
Using power,
Cannot escape the compulsion
To afflict the world,
So let us, cautious in diction
And mighty in contradiction,
Love powerfully.
Martin Buber, “Power and Love” (1926)
Today’s Action: Spend five minutes silently meditating on the above poem. Then spend five minutes free writing in your journal in response to the meditation.

Sharing: We’d love to read your writing. Please comment on our Facebook page: https://m.facebook.com/HolyHereticZine

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visit http://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

