Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: October 10, 2016 — I was sick, and you cared for me

15217309_1476142442-0386

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Oct. 10, 2016-I WAS SICK, AND YOU CARED FOR ME

Compiled by Mercy Junction Administrative Assistant, Reiki Master, and Empath Kali Meister

“Because nothing is permanent, a life based on possessing things or persons doesn’t make you happy.” — The Second Universal Truth of Buddhism   

I’m a day late.

It is especially difficult for me to write about this quote today–one I chose weeks ago. My friend’s sons died the day I was suppose to publish this. He was outside playing with his older brother when he ran into the street and was hit by a dump truck. He was nine years old. He died way too early in this life. 

Nothing is permanent.

I’ve been sitting here on my couch weeping for my friend in Knoxville who I can only imagine is broken right now and would in this moment have a difficult time with this Universal truth because her son, a person, made her very happy. This being said I envision his absence feels like someone literally cut a piece of her body off. A part of her is missing and it will never come back.  In time she will have to figure out in her own way how to fill that void her son has left. I pray she can do this with as little trauma as possible.

What I can only gain from this Universal Truth is that we do not own the people in our lives, though the love we feel for them may make us believe we do. The people we love are on loan to us from the Universe. It is because of this that we must respect each other and be gentle.

All I can assure my friend of is that I know she is loved by so many people. It will be hard right now, but let those people love you, Heather and let them carry you through this. You are a beautiful person who doesn’t deserve this loss or pain. Nobody does. I’m asking anyone who is reading this to send my dear friend Heather your love and prayers. She needs them. Also, because this was so sudden a GoFundMe account has been set up to help pay for Logan’s funeral and to help the family pay bills while they grieve the loss of their son and brother. It will be attached to this devotional. Blessings and love. 

Nothing Gold Can Stay by Robert Frost

Nature’s first green is gold, 
Her hardest hue to hold. 
Her early leaf’s a flower; 
But only so an hour. 
Then leaf subsides to leaf. 
So Eden sank to grief, 
So dawn goes down to day. 
Nothing gold can stay.

Logan’s GoFundMe

https://www.gofundme.com/2tsq8jb8

Today’s Action: Show love, love, love with reckless abandon to the people in your life. Tomorrow is not promised.

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visithttp://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

