Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: October 12, 2016 — I was sick, and you cared for me

img_0274-2

HOLY HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Oct. 12, 2016-I WAS SICK, AND YOU CARED FOR ME

Compiled by Holy Heretic Benjamin Foster

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.” — Billy Joel

I suppose I first realized it when I was a child, that God uses far more than physical methods of healing to alleviate suffering, though it was in adolescence that I truly discovered what it was that had the power to soothe my soul during emotional turmoil more than anything: music, writing lyrics, singing, and playing together with people who mean the most to me. To this day when the weight of some heavy burden is weighing down on my shoulders, you can find me going for a drive to commune with God, bumping my favorite jams, possibly screaming along with them. Kickin’ ’em out!

This has always been a cleansing meditation for me and a time to find my head space to talk with God. In Psalms 95:1 we’re told: “Come, let us sing for joy to the lord; let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.” Not only is this a form of worship but a form of healing. I firmly believe that God gives us talent not only to tell the world about our spiritual journey but to provide nourishment to weary spirits.

We are provided our talents to not only create to help others but to create to help ourselves. God gave us the ability to sing, write, and make music to praise the spirit and to heal the mind. Today, take a drive, crank the music up, have a talk with God, and let the melody soothe every old wound.

Today’s Action: No matter what music you love, be it Gospel or Alternative, Hip-Hop or Metal, Country or Folk, get in the car today, take a walk, put your headphones up, crank the music and let God heal you through the gifts he gives us.

Today’s Sharing: Share your favorite songs, from others or ones you’ve written, to help soothe someone’s pain. Share your stories on our Facebook page at facebook.com/holyhereticzine.

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!

To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visithttp://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

Leave a Reply

