Fellowship of Heretics Daily Devotional: October 24, 2016 — I was sick, and you cared for me

img_0274-3

HERETIC DEVOTIONAL- Oct. 23, 2016-I WAS SICK, AND YOU CARED FOR ME

Compiled by Mercy Junction Justice and Peace Center Administrative Assistant, Reiki Master, and Empath Kali Meister

“She is a friend of mind. She gather me, man. The pieces I am, she gather them and give them back to me in all the right order. It’s good, you know, when you got a woman who is a friend of your mind.” — Toni Morrison

I have had people in my life who have helped me with financial assistance or emotional support, and that is incredible. In my life I have seen where the best help offered to me has been by those who changed how I thought about something.

Ideas are important because they are directly influenced by our history of experiences. Living creates our ideas of how the world works for us. However, the Universe gifts us people who nurture us and possibly challenge us to change our ideas in ways  that contradict our experience. These people are blessing because they do quickly what can often take us years to do organically. It may be through their words or maybe their actions, but at some point in all of our lives we will have someone leave a mark on us that creates a better version of who we are because they make us think about how we process our thoughts and out experience.

To experience this growth we must be open to our collective differences and humble to the fact that we are not always correct. We also have to understand that change is constant. Change can also be good for us as students of the Universe.

My dear friend Marilyn taught me that the minute we stop learning is the minute we are useless to each other and ourselves. This is humbling, but it is also liberating.  It takes pressure off us to know everything when we understand we don’t need to know it all. We can then be gifts to each other.

Today’s Action: Recognize those who offer you lessons even in small ways.

Today’s Sharing: Tell us about the lessons you learn from the teachers around you. Share your stories on our Facebook page at facebook.com/holyhereticzine

** Don’t forget your gratitude journal at the back of your print edition of Holy Heretic!
To learn more about becoming a member of the Fellowship of Heretics and receiving our print daily devotional guide each month, visithttp://www.mercyjunction.org/fellowship-of-heretics

 

Leave a Reply

